Young Academics Award 2019

Sustainable Water Management in the Alps

Award-winning theses

The prizes for the Young Academics Award of the Alpine Convention in its 2019 edition have been awarded to:

  1. Marta Zaniolo (IT): “Design and application of drought indexes in highly regulated water systems”
  2. Marina Amadori (IT): “Characterisation of transport phenomena in Lake Garda through integrative hydrodynamic and meteorological modelling”
  3. Gianluca Antonino Vassallo (DE): “Design and development of a living green wall for greywater treatment”
Special Prizes 

Additionally, three special prizes have been awarded by the Alpine Convention InfoPoints: 

  • Kim Ferjančič (SI): “Fish passability assessment of transverse water obstacles in the Bača river” (Infopoint Tolmin)
  • Giovanni Martino Bombelli (IT): “The influence of climate change on hydro power production of large reservoirs in Lombardy” (Infopoint Morbegno)
  • Michele Bigoni (IT): “Validation of guidelines for groundwater quantitative status assessment: application to Aosta Valley” (Infopoint Grand Paradis)
  • Antonio Ballarin (IT): Professor of Environmental Physics, Department of Mathematics and Physics, Catholic University Milan;
  • Leo Füreder (AT): Head of the Research Group River and Conservation Research, University of Innsbruck;
  • Emmanuel Reynard (FR): Professor of physical geography, Faculty of Geosciences and Environment, University of Lausanne;
  • Mimi Urbanc (SI): Assistant Director, Research Centre of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts, Ljubljana.

Call: Sustainable Water management in the Alps (closed)


We are using cookies.

We are using cookies on this web page. Some of them are required to run this page, some are useful to provide you the best web experience.