The Alpine Convention Who We Are

The Alps

… are a fascinating and spectacular mountain range spanning eight countries: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia, and Switzerland. The challenges faced by the Alps are often cross-border in nature, and can be solved best through cooperation. Recognising this, the eight Alpine countries, together with the European Union, formed the Alpine Convention to address these challenges together.

The Alpine Convention is leading the way for sustainable life in the Alps and is a pioneer of its kind as the first international treaty aimed at the sustainable development and protection of an entire mountain range. The year 2021 marked the 30th anniversary since the Convention was first signed, laying down the international commitment to protect the Alpine region.

Get to know the foundations


We are using cookies.

We are using cookies on this web page. Some of them are required to run this page, some are useful to provide you the best web experience.